space-oddity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bells

i've never driven a car that didn't have bells ringing anytime i went over a pot hole or went flying over some hills.
see, before i even had my first car, my aunt gave me this japanese good luck charm that hangs (would hang, did hang) from my rear view mirror.
it's a gold crane dangling from a kind of paper plaque with japanese characters written on it (though i never figured out what it meant), and from the crane there are/were two bells hanging.
eventually, i added a chain of a lot more, but smaller, bells, and i became quite accustomed to the sounds of them chiming and ringing together.
so anyways, i got bells.. or had bells.
everyday after work i jump into my car and roll the windows down and open up the sunroof. i then drive out of the parking lot and normally wait at the stop light for a while. . . . and like every other day, today was no exception. so there i was at the stop light.. fumbling through my cd's... as i'm pretty much always doing as i'm waiting for the light to change.. trying to find something good to listen to on the way home. then, i noticed, the light had turned green, and i hadn't been paying attention, and i was sitting there with this case of cd's in my lap. so i quickly tried to get rid of the case by throwing it over to the passenger side as i was pressing on the gas and trying to get out of that intersection. i noticed that i had hit the bells with the case as i was doing this.... but didn't really look up to see what i had done until i was well on my way down kingston pike. anyways, i eventually looked up, and my bells were gone.
at every stop light, there i was, frantically searching the floorboard of my car for those bells, and in between lights, i would just freak out, sitting there, staring at the the golden crane with no bells. going over the usual pot holes on my way home down broadway was frightening - and when i finallly did make it home, i was shocked that i even made it... those bells were like the only thing that kept me alive.
(i know this all sounds ridiculous... and i know they're just bells and that they couldn't possibly keep me from wrecking my car, but really, once they were gone, i felt like i couldn't drive anymore. i needed those sounds.)
so once parked, i searched again.
no bells.

.

i don't want to drive to school tomorrow morning without them.

.

so i'm getting keith to take me to walmart.........
so i can buy more bells.

.

11:31 p.m. - 2001-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

attheshow
begrrl
demoderby
discodave
do-dolen
gotmedown
iota
kittybukkake
magicalpond
mew-mew
seethingblue
unclebob
terminal5