space-oddity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Herro, Robster!

This is kind of overdue, but I meant to tell you guys about the Lobster Vending Machine we saw at this department store in Hawaii called 99 Ranch. You put in a dollar, and you get a chance to move the little claw thing around in order to catch a LIVE LOBSTER! They had polaroids of all these people who had actually caught one.. it was crazy! We wanted to try to catch one so badly... but the damn thing was out of order! Anyway.. just thought it was interesting!

Herro, Robster!

12:43 pm - 12.19.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

turkey day birthday

I made cookies shaped like turkeys for Thanksgiving. I tried to take some better pictures but evidently my hands were shaking uncontrollably or something. None of them turned out - all blurry blobs. Perhaps it was the low light in our kitchen - where we only have one light and you have to squint to make sure you got all the greasy crud off the cooking pots because it's as if our sink were positioned in an effin cave or something.. it's that dark in there. So I was able to use photoshop on these turkeys, and they turned out alright.

Yeah. So. I turned 25 yesterday. I went to see Walk the Line, and now like everyone else in America who has seen this movie, I am obsessed with the life of Johnny Cash. We went to Cafe 1912 for dinner and had an early evening. I also finished sewing the curtains. And I did some laundry. I have nothing to say. Really.

What does everyone want for Christmas?

10:18 pm - 11.27.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Oahu

We just got back from Hawaii a couple of days ago... It's Thanksgiving tomorrow, and here we go again with a four-day weekend. We just had a vacation! Anywho, I took some pics with The Mister's little digital Canon while we were away. I didn't take as many as he did, but I'd still like to share what I have.

We were lucky enough to have the use of my step-father's truck the entire time we were on Oahu, so we spent just about everyday driving from beach to beach. A few days we stayed long enough to catch sunset. This was taken up on the North Shore. As my step-brother would say - the waves were "killer" up there. 15 ft plus. We attempted boogie-boarding on 3' to 5' waves the first day we were there, and those seemed powerful, and sometimes scary, on their own. I can't imagine what the force of a 15' wave underneath me would possibly feel like. I envy surfers.

Everyday was beautiful. 82 degrees with a slight breeze. Sunshine. The clouds hanging over a setting sun look like cotton candy.

One day we went kayaking off of Lanikai Beach. We paddled to the Mokulua Islands. The tides were higher on our way there than when we paddled back to the shore. I lost control of my kayak when a big wave came and tipped me over onto some coral. I scraped up my leg and banged my head on the side of the boat. But no worries. I still made it to scuba dive the next day. We saw a shark, some turtles, eels, an octopus, and all sorts of fish.

Everyone wears flip-flops in Hawaii. People call them "slippers"; however, the "r" is not pronounced, and the locals all say, "slippahs". My mom has a sign that hangs out in front of her front door. It reads, "Please remove your slippahs, or stand on your head."

One Saturday morning we went to Chinatown for dim sum & manapua.

We walked around Chinatown and browsed through all the markets. You can find just about anything for sale. My mom bought persimmons and char siu. We stayed away from the fish eyeballs and frogs.

Later that day we went to Kapiolani Park, where we watched local Hawaiian talent and perused the vendors. I had shave ice. For some reason, locals drop the "d" from "shaved" and when you order, you say, "shave ice." It was very warm and sunny that day, and we plopped down on the grass to relax while we waited on my mother.

4:08 pm - 11.23.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

attheshow
begrrl
demoderby
discodave
do-dolen
gotmedown
iota
kittybukkake
magicalpond
mew-mew
seethingblue
unclebob
terminal5