space-oddity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no amsterdams

The guy at the bike shop still hasn't called to let me know if the basket is in or not. Fucking slacker. It's probably sitting on the floor with all the other baskets... and then someone will come in and buy it, and the next time I'm in there, I'll ask about it, and he'll go, "I had one a week ago, but I sold it. . . ." Punk.

Two nights ago, The Mister and I got this crazy idea to go to Amsterdam in the middle of February because NWA is running a special on that weekend with prices as low as $399 (taxes & fees included) for a roundtrip. Holy jesus h, that is cheap. We even went so far as to look at temperatures for February (which is pretty damn cold in Amsterdam) and hostel rates. The next morning in the shower, I practiced the speech I was going to give my boss in order to make it clear to him that it would be absolutely and utterly imperative that he allow me to go on this five day excursion, but when I got to work an hour later, I realized that months ago a co-worker of mine had asked for those same days off, and thus, my dreams of going to Amsterdam came crashing down all around me. If only we weren't in such a small office and there were more minions to the boss to cover my absence.. if only. Le sigh.

:::WARNING - geeky obsession about to explode:::

I just started watching it this season, but as each week goes by, I have become increasingly obsessed with Bravo's Project Runway. I love this show like it's fucking crack cocaine! So Trent over at Pink Is The New Blog normally does a post with his thoughts on the previous night's show on Thursdays, but for some reason, he didn't post today (I think it's because he went to see a band last night instead). Anyway, I'm gonna cover for him this time and give my own little commentary. Readyyyyyy? OKAY!


So their task for Episode 8 was to draw inspiration from a photo they were to take on an hour-long walk through New York City. They could walk anywhere, and each were given their own digital camera. Then, after they had chosen their picture, they were supposed to construct an outfit inspired by that image.


The winner? Daniel V. His inspiration? A photo of two white orchids in a very sleek, modern cylindrical pot. I love this outfit. I'm glad he won this challenge. He takes direction very well on each task and has great execution. This champagne-colored chiffon blouse is fucking amazing! Especially when you think about his inspiration. Unlike the last challenge, where Zulema beat out Chloe for the prize (I couldn't believe she won! I can't imagine anyone ice skating in that white pleated skirt.. I mean, what's the fucks? And Chloe's was just so perfect for gliding on ice, and it was unique and looked much more pulled together), anyway, unlike the last challenge, I completely agree with the judges on this one. Daniel V. all the way!

Okay, so the loser? Zulema. Her inspiration? A photo of a big red African muumuu she saw some woman wearing on the street. Not that the muumuu was ever really that inspiring in the first place, but this dress just looks.. well.. uninspired, right? Very generic. And shabby, too. Poor Zulema. She just never has enough time to get shit done. Everything's always hanging with loose threads and unfinished edges. This definitely was not her best effort, but even though she is not my favorite designer on the show, I must say that I don't think it was her time to go.

Fucking Kara, man. Kara, Kara, Kara. So boring. So lame. So K-Mart. Her inspiration? All the signs of New York City and the way they are constantly creating boundaries. Need the caution tape winding it's way around this dress say anymore? Yawn. I think Kara has mainly gotten by because on half of the challenges the designers are paired with each other, and she just keeps on getting through to the next round by riding on someone else's coattails. She is going to have to pull out something fierce in order to make it through to the next episode, but something tells it's not going to happen. They should can her, which is too bad .. because I enjoy listening to her accent.

11:02 pm - 01.26.06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

attheshow
begrrl
demoderby
discodave
do-dolen
gotmedown
iota
kittybukkake
magicalpond
mew-mew
seethingblue
unclebob
terminal5