space-oddity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

February already

We were invited to go bowling with some of Mark's work-people-friends last night. Cosmic bowling at Jillians. But for some reason, the guy at the bowling alley only gave us two lanes for 19 people, so I decided to sit out at the back and drink New Castle. Shit, if everyone had bowled, it would have taken three hours just to get through one game. Actually, maybe I was the only one not playing.. geez, I dunno. There were too many people there anyways. We were there for two hours, and they had only played one game, and then we just decided to leave. But I'm glad I didn't bowl because I SUCK and would have felt embarrassed every time it was my turn because these people were actually pretty good. Besides, I was really high and probably would have made a fool of myself.

It is interesting. These people at the bowling alley all work with Mark. They're all a bunch of engineers with Master's degrees & PhD's, and when they introduce themselves to you, they have great eye contact and good handshakes, and normally they are introduced with their first & last name, and all in all, it's very nice to meet them. I suppose it's a certain faux friendliness, but at least it is pleasant and lends a somewhat formal attitude toward the situation.

So we left the bowling alley and went to Andy's to try to catch the end of the Grizzlies game. We arrived at his house at the same time four other people showed up. We all sat in Andy's living room, along with Jeremy, and watched tv and smoked. One guy's name is Clay. I know this because I have been introduced to him a couple of times before. .. as for the other people - the girl with the wart on her nose (who I think is Clay's girlfriend and who I also have seen before but have never been introduced to) and the couple sitting on the big chair (girl is drinking a tallboy out of koozie and the guy is so high he can barely keep his eyes open) - as for these three people - I have no idea who they are. No one bothered to introduce us. In fact, I'm not even sure if Andy knows who these people are, and they're sitting in his house. After a while, we got up and said good bye, and on the way home, stopped for some burgers & fries (late dinner) and came home. We watched The Corporation, which is actually a very disturbing documentary, but not in that bloody-guts-and-war disturbing sense, just more like a shocking view of the American corporation disturbing sense.

Anyway, I just thought it very strange how these two groups of people interact differently with others. I don't know if it has to do with level of education or family-life or the fact that one group probably does a lot more drugs and drinks a lot more than the other - like drugs somehow automatically give someone a certain amount of brashness, and thus, all formal introductions and faux-friendly what's-your-name-nice-to-meet-you conversations are unimportant and unnecessary, like forget-the-intros-let's-just-smoke-this-bowl. I don't know. Maybe that's it. But when I get high I'm super friendly and curious, and I love to meet new people. . . . Sorry. I'm not really going anywhere with this. I will stop.

We went to a couple of Grizzlies games this past week. Luckily, I was able to score us free tickets.. twice! 'cos I'm the man! errr... WOman. Actually, we were sitting right behind the Dallas team on Wednesday. The size of basketball players is fucking unbelievable. I have never been that close to NBA basketball players before. They are massive. They don't even look like real people. Just some weird monster-race of human-like beings. Anyway, we were sitting so close I got to see everything I normally see on teevee in full effect, such as how Mike Miller always sticks his right hand under his jersey and rubs his nipple before every free throw. I am serious. And, yes, it's very dirty looking. Very. NBA basketball games are fun. And the Fedex Forum is fancy.

Saw Match Point last weekend. Liked it. I haven't seen a recent Woody Allen film in a long time that I've liked as much as this one. It has it's typical Woody Allen dialogue, except most of it is spoken with an English accent, but it's full of suspense. I was speaking to one of the agents at work about it the other day, and he says he thinks Scarlett Johansson's mannerisms are over-done and out of control in this movie. He says her acting has been like this since Lost in Translation, which I don't necessarily agree with. I think she did sort of freak out in Match Point, and maybe that's where one can conclude that she's over-acting, but I think maybe that's what the scenes were calling for.. as for over-acting in Lost in Translation, I don't see it. Her performance, and Bill Murray's, was very subtle - that's one thing the movie was sort of about. .. Anyway, what do I know....

So are you ready for the Super Bowl? We are going to a Super Bowl party. We are supposed to bring one of our teevees and a side-dish. I don't even know who is playing. And do I really care?

11:15 am - 02.05.06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

attheshow
begrrl
demoderby
discodave
do-dolen
gotmedown
iota
kittybukkake
magicalpond
mew-mew
seethingblue
unclebob
terminal5